Disaster Resources


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.

FEMA Region VII administers FEMA programs and coordinates federal disaster response in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska. Our office is located in Kansas City, Missouri at the geographic center of the four-state region. Roughly 90 percent of the region’s more than 13.5 million residents are within approximately four hours’ driving time, allowing for a quick response by employees and the deployment of resources to disaster sites throughout the region. Regional staff work as a team with state, local, and tribal governments as well as non-profit groups, private sector, and other key stakeholders.



Kansas Division Of Emergency Management

Mission Statement:
Building sustainable capabilities across all phases of Emergency Management in Kansas through selfless service.

The current Emergency Management Program in Kansas stems from two major legislative initiatives: the Federal Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief Act, as amended, and Chapter 48, Article 9 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated. The Division of Emergency Management is the arm of the Adjutant General’s Department that provides mitigation advocacy, planning requirements and guidance, response coordination, and administration of recovery programs for the civil sector of the State, regardless of the type of hazards.

The Kansas Statutes Annotated require that each county maintain a disaster agency responsible for emergency preparedness and coordination of response to disasters. The Statutes also require each county to maintain an Emergency Operations Plan that has been approved by the Division of Emergency Management. These statutes are the basis for the State/local relationship, which is solidified by continued contacts and mutual assistance on day-to-day operations, and during times of disasters. The State and local governments work together to provide training to local emergency management and response personnel. The same is true for the conduct of periodic exercises to test the State and local emergency management systems.



Johnson County Emergency Management

The Emergency Management Division serves as the County’s designated disaster response agency and emergency operations center with the responsibility for all disaster and emergency management and response coordination.



Johnson County Fire District #1

Johnson County Fire District #1 serves Southwest Johnson County, KS which include the city’s of Gardner and Edgerton. We proudly serve a population of over 20,000. With the ONLY true Aircraft Rescue and Firefighting Apparatus in the County we also serve New Century Air Center which is now the 5th busiest airport in the State of Kansas.


More Resources:


FloodSmart Community Resources



Red Cross Disaster Safety Checklist



Emergency Planning – Protect Your Pet



How to Avoid Flood Damaged Cars



STEM Challenge for Kids – Building Flood Resistant Homes



Homeowner’s Guide to Lightning Safety